Reviews

8.5
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
8.3
Comfort
7.7
Property location
9.4
Facilities
8.0
Staff
9.3
Value
8.2

Reviews

    at

    Review score

    10
    21 October 2018
    We made the mistake and only spend 2 nights there! Next time I’ll stay longer
    Kent is one of the most ambitious and friendly host I’ve ever met! His hotel is lovely decorated and even the outside shower was an positive experience! Would recommend it to anyone who like old stuff and cats!
    Graham Iffland
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    19 October 2018

    A quaint, quirky residence at a great price.

    The establishment is fine, considering the inexpensiveness of the place.
    The establishment is rather quirky and quaint. Obviously the accommodation is in a very central location, which is a great bonus. The staff, particularly Kent and the young lad, are extremely friendly and ever so helpful.
    Sheena
    ie

    Review score

    8.8
    9 October 2018
    Kent is a super host, follow all the tips and hints he gives you on food and where to visit, he nailed this for us, thanks Kent! Sunday markets were fab and the street food recommended was delish! would recommend for a short 2/3 night stay.
    Alan
    my

    Review score

    2.5
    5 October 2018

    Worse of the worse

    Everything about, no privacy, place is dirty, owner is not friendly
    Nothing about it, misleading picture from website.
    Helen
    gb

    Review score

    9.5
    4 October 2018
    Fabulous quirky accommodation close to Love Lane, yet quiet and chilled. Beautifully designed and developed with attention to detail. Clean, comfortable, with friendly staff. We will definitely choose this place again.
    my

    Review score

    8.8
    2 October 2018

    Interesting stay to enjoy the old Penang

    The bathroom. Too small but I guess that's how it was anyway in a building like this so I can't complain much about this. Perhaps some extra plumbing is needed to clear that weird whiff in the air.
    This place is unique as well as a gem of a place. If you love the old Penang feel, this would be a nice stay for you. The owner, Ken, is very helpful, full of suggestions on where to go and has loads of stories on how MoonTree47 came to be. Our room brought us to a time in the past how families in the city at that time must have lived.
    my

    Review score

    10
    30 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Linda Day
    my

    Review score

    3.8
    29 September 2018

    I left early.

    The toilet And shower . The steep staircase. Ensuite bathroom advertised but on different floors. Balcony included in booking . But no balcony.
    The greenery. Wall plants.
    Diarmuid
    my

    Review score

    8.3
    26 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Shayda
    my

    Review score

    10
    17 September 2018

    Spacious Family Room in the Garden

    It was raining during our stay and there was leaking in our room. However, the owner was kind enough to compensate us in a way of giving extra bed for free. I would definitely coming back to the place with renovations going on to enlarge the space.
    I like that the room is spacious than I expected. We took a family room for 4 and accommodated 5 persons. The ambience in the guesthouse would take you time-travelled to the past. It feels like you are visiting your grandparent's place.
    Nurul Ainn Azizah
    my

    Review score

    10
    14 September 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marina
    pl

    Review score

    10
    7 September 2018
    Very friendly and helpful staff, amazing localization, authentic interior,
    Kyra
    nl

    Review score

    9.6
    1 September 2018
    No mirror (even in bathroom) No WiFi in room
    Cute, clean and big room with comfortable bed Everything was perfect Great location
    KEVIN
    sg

    Review score

    10
    1 September 2018

    It was beyond marvelous and

    It's like a paradise situated in the midst of a busy town! The environment inside is well portrayed, it even exceeds what I personally expected! The room I had was the Deluxe Twin room, bed is nice and most importantly would be the nostalgic feel from the interior design of the room itself! I would definitely come back again! Apart from this, the owner Kent is very friendly and open to any conversations, providing as much help as possible!
    Christian
    de

    Review score

    2.9
    31 August 2018
    Room 47a is a sh**hole! (there are 3 rooms 47a,47b,47c) - mould in the shower - smelly toilet is in the shower - "apartment" smells bad because the toilet is more or less in the toilet - "Beds" (= mattresses on the floor) are reachable over a steep ladder (say 70° or more), very dangerous if you need to go to the toilet - mosquitos because of the plants in the backyards. - Compressor of the AC is straight at the back of the bedroom... sounds nice - stains on the mattrass We left after one night!!!! worst stay in 30 days
    close to the old town center
    Nicole
    au

    Review score

    6.2
    27 August 2018

    Beautiful quirky place, bring earplugs and be prepared for outdoor showers.

    I really didn't like the cold outdoor shower and toilet. Also, it was so noisy at night. The high ceilings have lattice at the top and the walls are very thin so I heard people coming home at 12/1/2am and I didn't have a very comfortable night sleep : (
    The hotel is in an old Chinese shop house, so it has beautiful high ceilings. It is all put together very tastefully and the shop downstairs is super cute, selling vintage postcards. There are cats and bicycles and the owner was very nice to chat to. Also good location, if you want to be in the very centre of Georgetown.
    Evgenii
    ru

    Review score

    7.9
    14 October 2018

    Nice host, good location

    I choose the cheapest option for staying, so it was very basic, but no complaints about that. Unfortunately I visited this homestay during the ungoing renovation process, but I feel that potentially it could be very stylish and nice place for the couple of day in the historical part of Georgetown.
    my

    Review score

    8.3
    6 October 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Lorelei coryn
    be

    Review score

    10
    2 October 2018

    The best place in penang !

    Not much space to put the luggage but overall it was a great stay
    Very special room local style and pleasant The staff, Kent was extremely nice and show us what we should do Great location
    Luise
    nz

    Review score

    8.8
    20 September 2018

    Excellent staff and location!

    The guesthouse was in the middle of a renovation, so sadly the cafe/restaurant was closed temporarily during my stay and public spaces in the new area were still to be completed. I think once the renovations are done, it will be a great place to relax. Some added touches to my room would be...a dark/heavier shade curtain to block out the light coming through the traditional shutters, more shelving or a wardrobe with hooks or hangers to place things in/on and a mirror.
    Kent was a great host and was very helpful, friendly and enjoyable to chat with. He went the extra mile...dropping me off at a restaurant and drying my damp clothes! The guesthouse is in a very central location in Georgetown. Nice decor and in keeping with the traditional style of houses in the neighbourhood. My room was a good size and fitted with multi adaptor wall sockets, which was very convenient. I enjoyed the outside bathroom and the internal garden areas.
Loading reviews